Sympathy for the Devil


Geek-rants

Those of you who have been around, probably know that PHP is one of those languages that people just love to hate. For any number of reasons. Yes, it has a vast global namespace full of redundant functions, and yes, their names don’t make sense half of the time, and of course, the order by which you pass the arguments seems to depend on how drunk the developer of that particular function was when he wrote it.
That’s all true, and I, too, have my reasons to curse when I’m writing PHP. But I feel as though PHP has been bashed enough. It’s flawed, chaotic and is a prime example of a language design style I call “Design by after-thought”. But I’m going to try to write a brief post in defense of PHP. I will be using 2 arguments that have already been countered in anti-PHP posts before…

View original post 1,319 more words

