Website Down – Why I Need to Learn PHP


The Blue Room

So last night I was tinkering with my website blueluxphotos.com, trying to rearrange the order of one of my image galleries. So much of what I’ve learned has come from user-generated forums since WordPress doesn’t really come with any instructions on how to customize your site. So I’m looking on the designer’s site who did my theme, and one guy says to add these two lines of code to the functions.php page. I try it and boom – my whole site is wiped out and I can’t access my account anymore.

But I’m not sure if it was hacked exactly or if that was just a serious code error. I can still access the FTP and when I got in and found the functions.php file, that code was no longer there. In fact, many of the other files were totally blank. I also found the php error log and the…

View original post 134 more words

Leave a Reply

